Fall and Winter Break Main Office Hours

December 24-January 1, 2018 Add to calendar 2018-12-24 18:00:00 2019-01-01 18:00:00 America/Chicago Fall and Winter Break Main Office Hours

The English main office and support staff will hold the following office hours during fall and winter breaks this year.

Fall Break:

Monday, November 19-Wednesday, November 21:  7:30 a.m. – 4:00 p.m., with limited staff available.

Thursday, November 22-Friday, November 23:  Closed, University Holidays

Winter Break:

Monday, December 17-Friday, December 21:  7:30 a.m. – 4:00 p.m.

Monday, December 24-Tuesday, December 25:  Closed, University Holidays

Wednesday, December 26-Monday, December 31:  Closed.  The main office phone will be monitored for emergencies.

Tuesday, January 1:  Closed, University Holiday

Wednesday, January 2-Friday, January 11:  7:30 a.m. – 4:00 p.m.  Normal business hours (8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.) resume on January 14.

As a reminder, here is a checklist that will help in the university’s savings effort over winter break, December 24-January 1:

  • Shut down all computers, printers, and other accessories. If possible, plug computers and printers into a power strip and then shut off the power strip.
  • Leave your office computer on if you need remote access from home, but turn off the monitor, printer, speakers and any other connected devices. A computer’s sleep mode uses less energy than full power, but shutting it off completely protects data. A machine may be left on during break if it’s providing access to a critical application.
  • Turn off and unplug copiers and small appliances, such as coffee pots and microwaves.
  • Unplug chargers for electronic devices.
  • If you can manually adjust the thermostat in your office, turn it down to 65 degrees.