English Department Award Winners

CATEGORIES: Department News

Congratulations to the Department of English’s award winning faculty!

Morrill Professor

The title of Morrill Professor is conferred on a faculty member who has exhibited excellence in undergraduate or graduate teaching or extension and outreach programs and who has demonstrated outstanding performance in at least one other area of faculty responsibility. Nominees must hold the rank of professor and have served at least five years on the Iowa State faculty. The awardee retains the title for the remainder of their career at the university.

Charles Kostelnick, professor of English



Regents Award for Faculty Excellence

The award is presented by the state Board of Regents to recognize tenured faculty members who are outstanding university citizens and have rendered significant service to the university or the state of Iowa.

Donna Niday, associate professor of English





Volker Hegelheimer (Christopher Gannon/Iowa State University)

Early Achievement in Departmental Leadership

The award recognizes the exceptional impact of a department chair or school director within the first three years of their leadership role.

Volker Hegelheimer, chair of English






Outstanding Achievement in Research

The award recognizes a tenured faculty member who has a national or international reputation for contributions in research and/or creative activity.

  • John Levis, Angela B. Pavitt Professor in English