Deadlines

POSC FORMS

Program of Study and Committee (POSC) Form

All graduate students are to submit their Degree Planning Sheet (DPS) and other appropriate department POS documentation forms, at the same time as submitting the electronic Graduate College POSC Form in AccessPlus according to the following English Department graduate program deadlines (does not include counting summer semesters):

September 19, 2022—Fall 2022
February 20, 2023—Spring 2023

  • 2nd semester of coursework for MA program graduate assistants (GAs)
    (or non-GA MA students upon completion of 9 POS credit hours)
  • 4th semester of coursework for MFA program graduate assistants (GAs)
    (or non-GA MFA students upon completion of 27 POS credit hours)
  • 5th semester of coursework for PhD program graduate assistants (GAs)
    (or non-GA PhD students upon completion of 36 POS credit hours)

FINANCIAL SUPPORT

Graduate Assistantship Applications for 2023-24
(current student requests for new appointments, reassignments, and extensions)

(If you currently have a graduate assistantship with the English Department and have remaining semesters of eligibility after the spring semester at the end of the academic year, you do not have to reapply.)

Deadline—January 15, 2023

Downloadable PDF document of application requirements 

PHD PROGRAMS

ALT Examinations Committee 2022-23

Carol Chapelle (carolc@iastate.edu) (Chair)
John Levis (jlevis@iastate.edu)
Sinem Sonsaat Hegelheimer (sonsaat@iastate.edu)

RPC Examinations Committee 2022-23

Maggie LaWare (mlaware@iastate.edu) (Chair)
Abram Anders (adanders@iastate.edu)
Geoff Sauer (gsauer@iastate.edu)
Craig Rood (rood@iastate.edu)

 


PhD Portfolio Submissions

All portfolios are due by 12:00 Noon on the announced deadlines below.

 Fall 2022Spring 2023
ALT (4th sem)1st submission / January 17, 2023 (Tues due to Mon Holiday) by 12:00 noon
2nd submission / April 3, 2023 (Mon) by 12:00 noon (if required)
RPC (3rd sem; 4th sem if admitted with bachelor's degree)November 4, 2022 (Fri) by 12:00 noonMarch 3, 2023 (Fri) by 12:00 noon

 


PhD Annual Reviews

All ALT and RPC doctoral students must complete Annual Reviews each year by the following deadlines according to the procedures and forms downloadable on the graduate program Forms website.

 Spring 2023
ALT April 3, 2023
RPCApril 1, 2023